Buy Bullion

Kookaburra Silver Coins

The silver Kookaburra Coin series is released annually by the Perth Mint, located in Perth, Australia. The coin was first released in 1990, and 2020 will mark the 30th anniversary of the coin.

Design of the Silver Kookaburra Coin

Each year, the silver Kookaburra coin's design is updated to reflect a new image of a Kookaburra bird. However, many of the coin's features remain the same. The front of each coin features an image of Queen Elizabeth II with the word 'Australia' and the coin's face value located at the bottom.

The reverse of the coin features an image of a Kookaburra in the center. The outside of the coin always features information about the coin, including its year of minting, it purity, its weight, and the metal type. 

Previous Designs Used on the Silver Kookaburra Coin

 Numismatic Benefits to the Kookaburra Coin

The Silver Kookaburra series is more popular with numismatic silver investors than coins like the silver American Eagle or Canadian Maple Leaf. This is partially due to the fact that the image of the Kookaburra on the coin is updated annually. Many silver investors like to collect these coins annually, so that they have all of the designs.

The silver Kookaburra coin is released by the Perth Mint in limited quantitites annually. Minting until 2010 was limited to 300,000 1 Ounce silver coins. In 2011 this amount was increased to 500,000. 2017 saw the Perth Mint release just over 400,000 of the 1 Oz Silver Kookaburra coin. The 1 Ounce silver Kookaburra coin is the most popular size coin. Additional sizes are available from the Perth Mint.

KOOKABURRA COIN FACE VALUES

Coin Size Face Value
1 Ounce $1 AUD
2 Ounce $2 AUD
10 Ounce $10 AUD
1 Kilogram $30 AUD

 

The silver Kookaburra coin series was made from 999 fine silver bullion until 2019, when the coin's purity was increased to 9999 fine. This makes the current year silver Kookaburra coins some of the purest silver coins available on the market. 

The Silver Kookaburra Coin and the Perth Mint

The silver Kookaburra coin was first released in 1990, four years after the Perth Mint released their first investment grade gold bullion coin, designed to compete with the South African Krugerrand and the Canadian Maple Leaf. The silver Kookaburra coin was an instant success, and inspired the Perth Mint to release the silver Koala coin, which followed the same pattern as the Kookaburra. The silver Koala, like the Kookaburra, is released in the same sizes, and has a design that is updated annually.

The Kookaburra coin has a legal tender face value that is backed by the government of Australia. Its legal tender value is far outweighed by the silver content value of the coin. However, many investors prefer to purchase silver coins with legal tender value. Some clients feel that it gives the coin more credibility than other silver investment options, such as silver bars. Some clients also benefit from tax exemption laws that apply to legal tender silver coins as opposed to silver rounds or bars. 

Silver Kookaburra coins are available to clients of SuisseGold.ch for VAT-exempt Swiss storage, or for delivery. Clients selecting to store their silver Kookaburra coins may select to sell their coins back at any time at favorable rates, or request delivery. Storage is offered free of charge for one year.

Acheter des lingots

Pièces d'argent Kookaburra

Les séries de pièces Kookaburra en argent sont lancées chaque année par la Monnaie de Perth, implantée à Perth, en Australie. La pièce a été lancée pour la première fois en 1990, et 2020 marquera le 30e anniversaire de la pièce.

Design de la pièce Kookaburra en argent

Chaque année, le design de la pièce Kookaburra en argent est mis à jour pour une nouvelle image de l'oiseau Kookaburra. Toutefois, plusieurs des caractéristiques de la pièce demeurent inchangées. Le devant de chaque pièce montre une image de la reine Elizabeth II avec le mot " Australie " et la valeur nominale de la pièce en bas.

Le revers de la pièce présente une image d'un Kookaburra au centre. Sur le pourtour de la pièce figurent comme toujours des informations sur la pièce, notamment son année de frappe, sa pureté, son poids et le type de métal.

Designs précédents utilisés pour la pièce Kookaburra en argent

Intérêt numismatique de la pièce Kookaburra
La série Kookaburra en argent est plus populaire auprès des investisseurs en argent numismatique que les pièces comme les American Eagle en argent ou les Canadian Maple Leaf. Cela est dû en partie au fait que l'image du Kookaburra sur la pièce est mise à jour chaque année. Beaucoup d'investisseurs en argent aiment collectionner ces pièces chaque année, afin de posséder tous les designs.

La pièce Kookaburra en argent est frappée par la Monnaie de Perth en quantité limitée chaque année. Les frappes jusqu'en 2010 étaient limitées à 300 000 pièces en argent d'une once. En 2011, ce chiffre a été augmenté à 500 000. En 2017, la Monnaie de Perth a émis un peu plus de 400 000 pièces de Kookaburra en argent de 1 oz. La pièce Kookaburra en argent de 1 once est le format le plus populaire. D'autres formats sont disponibles à la Monnaie de Perth.

VALEUR NOMINALE DE LA PIÈCE DE KOOKABURRA

Taille de la pièce

Valeur nominale

1 Ounce

$1 AUD

2 Ounce

$2 AUD

10 Ounce

$10 AUD

1 Kilogramme

$30 AUD

 

La série de pièces Kookaburra en argent a été fabriquée à partir de lingots d'argent pur 999 jusqu'en 2019, lorsque la pureté de la pièce a été portée à 9999. Ce qui fait des pièces Kookaburra en argent de l'année en cours une des pièces en argent les plus pures disponibles sur le marché.

La pièce Kookaburra en argent et la Monnaie de Perth

La pièce Kookaburra en argent a été lancée pour la première fois en 1990, quatre ans après que la Monnaie de Perth ait lancé sa première pièce d'or de catégorie investissement, destinée à concurrencer la South African Krugerrand et la Canadian Maple Leaf. La pièce Kookaburra en argent a connu un succès immédiat et a inspiré la Monnaie de Perth à lancer la pièce Koala en argent, qui a suivi le même modèle que la Kookaburra. La pièce Koala en argent, comme le Kookaburra, est disponible dans les mêmes tailles, et son design est mis à jour annuellement.

La pièce de Kookaburra a une valeur nominale qui a cours légal et est appuyée par le gouvernement Australien. Son cours légal est largement compensé par la teneur en argent de la pièce. Toutefois, de nombreux investisseurs préfèrent acheter des pièces d'argent ayant cours légal. Certains clients estiment que la pièce de monnaie est plus crédible que d'autres options pour les investissements en argent, comme les lingots d'argent. Certains clients bénéficient également de lois d'exonération fiscale qui s'appliquent aux pièces d'argent ayant cours légal, par opposition aux rondes ou aux lingots d'argent.

Les pièces Kookaburra en argent sont à la disposition des clients de SuisseGold.ch pour le stockage en Suisse exempté de TVA, ou pour la livraison. Les clients qui choisissent de stocker leurs pièces Kookaburra en argent peuvent choisir de les revendre à tout moment à des taux favorables ou de demander leur livraison. Le stockage est offert gratuitement pendant un an.