Buy Bullion

Kookaburra Silver Coins

The silver Kookaburra Coin series is released annually by the Perth Mint, located in Perth, Australia. The coin was first released in 1990, and 2020 will mark the 30th anniversary of the coin.

Design of the Silver Kookaburra Coin

Each year, the silver Kookaburra coin's design is updated to reflect a new image of a Kookaburra bird. However, many of the coin's features remain the same. The front of each coin features an image of Queen Elizabeth II with the word 'Australia' and the coin's face value located at the bottom.

The reverse of the coin features an image of a Kookaburra in the center. The outside of the coin always features information about the coin, including its year of minting, it purity, its weight, and the metal type. 

Previous Designs Used on the Silver Kookaburra Coin

 Numismatic Benefits to the Kookaburra Coin

The Silver Kookaburra series is more popular with numismatic silver investors than coins like the silver American Eagle or Canadian Maple Leaf. This is partially due to the fact that the image of the Kookaburra on the coin is updated annually. Many silver investors like to collect these coins annually, so that they have all of the designs.

The silver Kookaburra coin is released by the Perth Mint in limited quantitites annually. Minting until 2010 was limited to 300,000 1 Ounce silver coins. In 2011 this amount was increased to 500,000. 2017 saw the Perth Mint release just over 400,000 of the 1 Oz Silver Kookaburra coin. The 1 Ounce silver Kookaburra coin is the most popular size coin. Additional sizes are available from the Perth Mint.

KOOKABURRA COIN FACE VALUES

Coin Size Face Value
1 Ounce $1 AUD
2 Ounce $2 AUD
10 Ounce $10 AUD
1 Kilogram $30 AUD

 

The silver Kookaburra coin series was made from 999 fine silver bullion until 2019, when the coin's purity was increased to 9999 fine. This makes the current year silver Kookaburra coins some of the purest silver coins available on the market. 

The Silver Kookaburra Coin and the Perth Mint

The silver Kookaburra coin was first released in 1990, four years after the Perth Mint released their first investment grade gold bullion coin, designed to compete with the South African Krugerrand and the Canadian Maple Leaf. The silver Kookaburra coin was an instant success, and inspired the Perth Mint to release the silver Koala coin, which followed the same pattern as the Kookaburra. The silver Koala, like the Kookaburra, is released in the same sizes, and has a design that is updated annually.

The Kookaburra coin has a legal tender face value that is backed by the government of Australia. Its legal tender value is far outweighed by the silver content value of the coin. However, many investors prefer to purchase silver coins with legal tender value. Some clients feel that it gives the coin more credibility than other silver investment options, such as silver bars. Some clients also benefit from tax exemption laws that apply to legal tender silver coins as opposed to silver rounds or bars. 

Silver Kookaburra coins are available to clients of SuisseGold.ch for VAT-exempt Swiss storage, or for delivery. Clients selecting to store their silver Kookaburra coins may select to sell their coins back at any time at favorable rates, or request delivery. Storage is offered free of charge for one year.

Edelmetalle kaufen

Kookaburra Silbermünzen

Die silberne Kookaburra Coin Serie wird jährlich von der Perth Mint mit Sitz in Perth, Australien, herausgegeben. Die Münze wurde erstmals 1990 herausgebracht, und 2020 wird der 30. Jahrestag der Münze gefeiert.

Entwurf der silbernen Kookaburra-Münze

Jedes Jahr wird das Design der silbernen Kookaburra-Münze aktualisiert, um ein neues Bild eines Kookaburra-Vogels wiederzugeben. Viele der Merkmale der Münze bleiben jedoch unverändert. Auf der Vorderseite jeder Münze befindet sich ein Bild von Königin Elisabeth II. mit dem Wort "Australien" und dem Nennwert der Münze auf der Unterseite.

Auf der Rückseite der Münze befindet sich in der Mitte ein Bild eines Kookaburras. Die Außenseite der Münze enthält immer Informationen über die Münze, einschließlich ihres Prägejahres, ihrer Reinheit, ihres Gewichts und der Metallart.

Frühere Designs für die silberne Kookaburra-Münze

Numismatische Vorteile für die Kookaburra-Münze

Die silberne Kookaburra-Serie ist bei numismatischen Silberinvestoren beliebter als Münzen wie der silberne amerikanische Adler oder das kanadische Ahornblatt. Dies ist zum Teil darauf zurückzuführen, dass das Bild des Kookaburras auf der Münze jährlich aktualisiert wird. Viele Silberanleger sammeln diese Münzen gerne jährlich, so dass sie alle Designs haben.

Die silberne Kookaburra-Münze wird von der Perth Mint in begrenzten Mengen jährlich herausgegeben. Die Prägung bis 2010 war auf 300.000 1-Unze-Silbermünzen begrenzt. Im Jahr 2011 wurde dieser Betrag auf 500.000 erhöht. 2017 brachte die Perth Mint etwas mehr als 400.000 der 1 Oz Silber Kookaburra Münze heraus. Die 1 Unze Silber Kookaburra Münze ist die beliebteste Größe. Weitere Größen sind bei der Perth Mint erhältlich.

KOOKABURRA MÜNZE NOMINALWERTE

Münzgröße

Nominalwert

1 Unze

$1 AUD

2 Unzen

$2 AUD

10 Unzen

$10 AUD

1 Kilogramm

$30 AUD

 

Die silberne Kookaburra-Münzserie wurde aus 999 Feinsilberbarren hergestellt, bis 2019, als die Reinheit der Münze auf 9999 Feine erhöht wurde. Damit gehören die silbernen Kookaburra-Münzen des laufenden Jahres zu den reinsten Silbermünzen, die auf dem Markt erhältlich sind.

Die silberne Kookaburra-Münze und die Perth-Mint

Die silberne Kookaburra-Münze wurde erstmals 1990 veröffentlicht, vier Jahre nachdem die Perth Mint ihre erste Goldbarren-Münze in Investment-Grade-Qualität herausgebracht hatte, die mit dem südafrikanischen Krügerrand und dem kanadischen Ahornblatt konkurrieren sollte. Die silberne Kookaburra-Münze war ein sofortiger Erfolg und inspirierte die Perth Mint zur Veröffentlichung der silbernen Koala-Münze, die dem gleichen Muster wie die Kookaburra folgte. Der silberne Koala wird, wie der Kookaburra, in den gleichen Größen angeboten und hat ein Design, das jährlich aktualisiert wird.

Die Kookaburra-Münze hat einen gesetzlichen Nennwert, der von der Regierung Australiens unterstützt wird. Der Wert der gesetzlichen Zahlungsmittel wird durch den Silbergehalt der Münze bei weitem überkompensiert. Viele Anleger bevorzugen jedoch den Kauf von Silbermünzen mit gesetzlichem Zahlungsmittelwert. Einige Kunden sind der Meinung, dass die Münze dadurch mehr Glaubwürdigkeit erhält als andere Anlagemöglichkeiten für Silber, wie beispielsweise Silberbarren. Einige Kunden profitieren auch von Steuerbefreiungsgesetzen, die für gesetzliche Zahlungsmittel Silbermünzen im Gegensatz zu Silberrunden oder Barren gelten.

Silberne Kookaburra-Münzen stehen den Kunden von SuisseGold.ch zur Verfügung, um sie umsatzsteuerfrei in der Schweiz aufzubewahren oder zu liefern. Kunden, die sich für die Aufbewahrung ihrer silbernen Kookaburra-Münzen entscheiden, können ihre Münzen jederzeit zu günstigen Preisen zurückverkaufen oder die Lieferung anfordern. Die Lagerung wird für ein Jahr kostenlos angeboten.